Annual Conference Wrap Up!

April 15th – 17th, 2019, brought 300 Texas housing supporters another great Annual Conference with networking, fun, and education!  The theme for the 43rd conference was “More Powerful Together! The 43rd Annual Conference kicked-off with the Bedford American Legion’s Presentation of the Colors and popular local talent the Dallas Tap Dazzlers kicked it up in high gear with an enthusiastic performance. Our attendees were welcomed by our State, Regional and National NAHRO Presidents! Our state was introduced to Sunny Shaw, Candidate NAHRO President & Patricia Wells, Candidate NAHRO Sr. Vice President, and we got to learn more about their early years in public housing, and what shaped them to be the individuals they are today. Closing our very exciting morning was none other than housing legend Nan McKay, President and CAO, Nan McKay & Associates.

This year’s conference agenda offered one (1) Certification Training, Fair Housing, and twenty four (24) breakout sessions. In addition to those numerous educational opportunities, we also offered one (1) breakout session for our Business Partners updating them on affordable housing operations and what they might do to help position them to provide the best services and products to clients in the new era of RAD.

Our attendees had the opportunity to hear from both HUD Staff and Consulting firms on RAD. Sessions provided a variety of information from critical negotiating issues with developer partners and tax credit investors, layering rad and section 18 disposition to maximize revenue, and discussing the changes that HUD has instituted to make RAD more accessible to all PHAs.

Whether you were learning about RAD, plumbing, leading a multigenerational workforce, or  innovative artificial intelligence technology, there were sessions for every interest. For those that couldn’t choose between the great sessions, they could simply mingle with over three dozen exhibitors, all with ample access to conference attendees.

Our Member Services Committee worked hard to entertain while raised $1061 for Scholarships throughout the conference.

On Wednesday the conference closed out with the Awards and Scholarship luncheon. We awarded 29 Agency & Individual awards winners and gave out $10,500 in Scholarships to 8 students from across the state.

The Closing session was presented by Crystal L. Bessix, President of edOpp Solutions. Crystal motivated and inspired us while discussing the Best Selling Book The Oz Principle: Getting Results Through Individual and Organizational Accountability. Everyone  walked away enlightened and empowered to overcome the obstacles, excuses and biases that keep us from getting the outcomes we want. 


Session Handouts    Comment Card Feedback    Photo Gallery 

Thank You Conference Sponsors!

         

 

                    

  • Business Partners
    COMPANY CONTACT ADDRESS, CITY,ST,ZIP PHONE EMAIL
    BGC Advantage Katie Anderson 1910 Farmersville Hwy, Ruston, LA 71270 318-957-0483 kanderson@bgcadvantage.com
    Carleton Management Services Laura Sullivan – COO 3301 Airport Freeway #210, Bedford, TX 76021 817-532-3155 lsullivan@carletonms.com
    Courage Starts with You Sherrie Allsup www.couragestartswithyou.com
    Custom Computer Systems Edmond Francis 1248Freiheit Road, New Braunfels, 78130 830-627-2000 edmond@gostw.net
    Dallas Housing Authority David Zappasodi David.Zappasodi@dhantx.com
    edOpp Solutions LLC Patrick Butler 5450 NW Central Dr., Suite 309, Houston, TX 77092 832-429-7049 pbutler@edOppsolutions.com
    Emphasys Software Greg Gagnon 308 State Street #9, Petoskey, MI 49770 231-347-8787 ggagnon@emphasys-software.com
    GoSection8.com Dominic Muttillo 5000 T-Rex Avenue, Suite 150, Boca Raton, FL 33431 561-362-1099 x 212 dominic@gosection8.com
    Green Garbology Steve Inman 621 S Mayhill Road, Denton, TX 76208 888-516-1299 steve@greengarbology.com
    Grind-All Concrete Alex Rigot 4325 Brook Park Rd, Parma, Ohio, 44134 844-925-5929 alex@grindallconcrete.net
    HD Supply Heather Swift 3400 Cumberland Blvd, Atlanta, GA 30339 858-831-2127 heather.swift@hdsupply.com
    Housing Agency Retirement Trust Ed Johnston 13413 Forest Springs Drive, Louisville, KY 40245 502-551-7420 ejohnston@LMHA1.org
    Housing Benefits Plan Susan Strange 1450 Blue Run Road, Minden, LA 71055 318-377-9268 sstrange@oeccwildblue.com
    Housing Solutions Alliance Jessica Strange 8610 King George Drive, Dallas, TX 75235 800-288-7623 jessica@callhsa.com
    Lindsey Software Emily Davis 500 President Clinton Avenue, Suite 401, Little Rock, AR 72201 501-537-2469 emily.davis@lindseysoftware.com
    Lowes Robert Oglesby 4134 Ridgemont Drive, Abilene, TX 79606 325-692-2727 robert.a.oglesby@store.lowes.com
    Nan McKay James Misner 1810 Gillespie Way, Suite 202, El Cajon, CA 92020 1-800-783-3100 jmisner@nanmckay.com
    Novogradac & Company LLP Phong Tran 11044 Reasearch BLVD, C-400, Austin, TX 78759 512-340-0420 phong.tran@novoco.com
    Patricia Wells Patricia Wells PWells@oakha.org
    PDQ Supply Inc. Alexis Westergren 1855 Wallace Ave, St Charles, IL, 60174 800-843-0903 marketing@pdqsupply.com
    Pest Heat Mary Perryman 900C Tryens R, Aston, PA 19014 610-637-8004 mc.perryman@sunbeltrentals.com
    Pioneering Technology Joanna Osborne 2400 Skymark Ave, Canada 800-433-6026 josborne@pioneeringtech.com
    Precision Concrete Cutting RoxAnn Baker 11417 SW 109th ST, Mustang, OK 73064 405-427-4455 OK office rbaker@safesidewalks.com
    Professional Document Systems Matt Bowman 1414 Common Drive, El Paso, TX 79936 915-593-3100 mbowman@pdswest.com
    Quadel Consulting Jim Evans 1200 G Street, NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005 443-904-1234 jevans@quadel.com
    SACS Sherri Hawkins 1949 Cherokee Road, Alexander City, AL 35010 256-329-1205 sherri@sacssoftware.com
    Sunny Shaw Sunny Shaw sunny@hacp.services
    The Transformation Group Michael Bowen 5057 Keller Springs Road, Addison TX, 75001 440-263-0406 revitalizationstrategies@gmail.com
    TMLIRP Tamara Chafin PO Box 149194, Austin, TX 78714 512-417-3340 tchafin@tmlirp.org
    TSUNAMI (Ocean 10 Security) Victoria Heinz 21 Biltmore Ave, Unit 301, Asheville, NC 28801 828-734-8886 office@ocean10security.com
    TXNAHRO Member Services
    Ultimate IT Guys Cleatus Davis 112 N Oklahoma Avenue, Mangum, OK 73554 580-782-2266 cdavis@ultimateitguys.com
    Wood Printing Frank Wood PO Box 152569, Dallas, TX 75315 214-421-7393 frank@woodprinting.com
    Yardi Kalli Stilwell 430 S Fairview Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93117 805-699-2040 kalli.stilwell@yardi.com
  • 2019 Scholarship Winners
    First Name  Last Name  Agency 
    Dana Cuellar Housing Authority of the City of Harlingen
    Oliyadi Girma Dallas Housing Authority
    Raymundo Iglesias Cameron County Housing Authority
    Hilda Lopez Cameron County Housing Authority
    Jayllian McGee Abilene Housing Authority
    Astrid Molina Cameron County Housing Authority
    EHIBY PEREDO Housing Authority of the City of Brownsville
    Valeria Rocha Cameron County Housing Authority  (Jim Hargrove Scholarship)
    Amiya Ward San Antonio Housing Authority
  • 2019 Award Winners

    Agency Award Winners

    Award  Agency 
    Annual Report – Medium Edinburg Housing Authority
    Annual Report – Medium Travis Housing Authority
    Annual Report – Large Austin  Housing Authority
    Annual Report – Very Large San Antonio Housing Authority
    Best Newsletter –  Small Sherman Housing Authority
    Best Newsletter – Medium Edinburg Housing Authority
    Best Newsletter – Large Austin  Housing Authority
    Best Newsletter – Very Large San Antonio Housing Authority
    Other Agency Publications  – Medium Edinburg Housing Authority
    Other Agency Publications  – Large Austin  Housing Authority
    Other Agency Publications  – Very Large Fort Worth Housing Solutions
    Media Recognition Category B – Medium Edinburg Housing Authority
    Media Recognition Category  B  – Large Austin  Housing Authority
    Media Recognition – A Very Large San Antonio Housing Authority

    Individual Award Winners

    Award  Agency  Nominee
    Maintenance Person of the Year – Large Austin  Housing Authority LaPread Stallworth
    Maintenance Person of the Year – Very Large San Antonio Housing Authority Hector Romero
    Resident of the Year – Medium Central Texas Housing Consortium Carmelita Joenks
    Resident of the Year – Large Austin  Housing Authority Kimberlyn Barton-Reyes
    Resident of the Year – Very Large San Antonio Housing Authority Marvin Lampkins
    Administrative Person of the Year – Medium San Benito Housing Authority Rosie Longoria
    Administrative Person of the Year – Very Large San Antonio Housing Authority Michaelle Finch
    Management Person of the Year – Medium Central Texas Housing Consortium Sharon Snapp
    Management Person of the Year – Very Large San Antonio Housing Authority Victoria Febus
    Executive of the Year – Large Austin  Housing Authority Gloria Morgan
    Commissioner of the Year  – Very Small Santa Anna Housing Authority Bob Farley
    Commissioner of the Year  – Medium San Benito Housing Authority Victor Rosas
    Commissioner of the Year  – Very Large Houston Housing Authority LaRence Snowden
    Community Service Award McKinney Housing Authority DFW Regional AFFH
    Member of the Year Bangs Housing Authority Karen Baker Reynolds